Well, today was one heck of a busy day. Started up by leaving our hotel at 9am to ensure that we were able to make in to our first game in Fargo, ND.
We made it to Fargo just after the game started. Our seats were right behind home plate, just a few seats towards first base. We were in Row 1, so we had a great view of the game. Got a few souvenirs (but not a shirt for me) and some food and drinks then went back to our seats. The Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks are an Independent team from the American Association of Independent Professional Baseball league. This is the second team we've seen from this league on this vacation and this is the number 1 team from this division of the league. Saw back to back homeruns and 3 total homeruns during the game. We talked to a gentleman that was very enthusiastic about baseball, especially his team, the Minnesota Twins. He showed us a picture of him in the background at Fenway after Joe Mauer hit a go ahead homerun in the 9th...the picture was on MLB.com! During the middle of the 8th inning the farmer that was also a "ball boy" broke out in the Cotton Eye Joe right in front of us. Lots of cheers from the crowd on that one. The game ended shortly after with a RedHawks win.
After leaving the game we drove straight to the local mall which has a Roger Maris Museum. It was on the way out of town and baseball related, so we had to stop! Josh had bought a Roger Maris bobblehead at the game, so he was able to see some of his mementos at the museum.
Left the mall and had an almost 4 hour drive ahead of us before our next game. Once in Minneapolis we got stuck in a traffic jam. They were doing road construction and had 2 lanes merging into one...they also had 2 other highways merging into this single lane. What a friggin' nightmare! Instead of being 10 minutes early we were 30 minutes late.
The game we were going to...the second game of the day!!! was the Saint Paul Saints, yet another Independent team from the American Association of Independent Professional Baseball league...our third team from this league on our vacation.
We pulled into the parking lot and it was $7 to park, but we only had $5 up front. I was about to go into my backpack in the back of the car to get some cash, but the attendants said not to worry about it...we got to park free. We bought tickets in the right field bleachers. When at the souvenir shop Josh asked if they had any bobble heads. They didn't but suggested we talk to guest services and tell them where we were from. We did this, but they didn't have any this year. The lady running the guest services booth pulled out a couple Saints hats for us. Score!
The game itself was really cool. The team is partially owned by comedian Bill Murray, so they have some zany stuff going on. One of these is that they have a pig that delivers baseballs to the umpire between innings. They also have some really off key singers for the seventh inning stretch. Fun stadium to visit. We were exhausted so ended up leaving just before the 9th inning.
Tomorrow should be a relaxing day. We have nothing planned. A well deserved and needed day of rest.
Goodnight.
No comments:
Post a Comment